Last Week Today: Week End Recap- Jan. 15th to Jan. 21st

Hello Heroes and Travelers, here we are at the end of another week here on Nice Job Breaking It, Hero! I’ve had not one, but two 3-Day weekends within the span of two weeks and you’d think I’d use the extra free time to get some actual work done, but you’d be mistaken! I actually spent the extra days off from work reading Haikyuu DJs and slacking off like a pro! 😛

snorelax

Plus the Inauguration had me about ready to pull my hair out, so this wasn’t the most productive week for me…  In fact, I literally waited until the end of the week to start getting things done. Also, sorry in advance, I’ll be catching up on my comments this week, so some of you all might be getting a ton of WP notifications… just a heads up! 😀

Page Jumps: Weekly Blog Recap, Weekly News Recap, Housekeeping, Week Ahead, Weekly Blogger Spotlight


weekly blog recap

  1. The Energetic Delinquent Who Stole My Heart: Bad Boys Do It Better!-Yu Agatsuma-Yu Agatsuma is an adorable ray of sunshine and while he can be a bit out there at times, it’s easy to get swept along by his nonstop whirlwind of energy! This is a “spoiler free” review of Yu’s Main Story from the Voltage Inc game Bad Boys Do It Better!
  2. Let’s Show Our Support for Wicked Love a Supernatural Romance– A short write up of the Kickstarter campaign for Spirit Kinder Games’s upcoming supernatural romance visual novel, Wicked Love!
  3. Thrifty Gaming: Games That Won’t Blow Your Budget #3– This is the post where I spotlight three visual novels for gamers on a budget. Every game featured is priced $10 or less, so definitely check out this week’s thrifty picks!!
  4. Fangirl Moment: Barack Obama– Since the Inauguration just happened to fall on a Friday, I decided to break from my usual Fangirl Moment topics and write a short farewell post to the 44th President, Mr. Barack Obama!
  5. Wicked Love- Demo Review– A short demo review for the upcoming supernatural romance, Wicked Love. This post is part of a special collaboration with my bestie, Bishie, who runs a Let’s Play channel over on YouTube!!
  6. Let’s Show Our Support for Zodiac•Axis: A Fantasy-Fusion Visual Novel– A short write up of the Kickstarter campaign for Studio Theophilus’s upcoming supernatural romance visual novel, Zodiac•Axis!

Page Jumps: Weekly News Recap, Housekeeping, Week Ahead, Weekly Blogger Spotlight


weekly news recap

New This Week:

  • Idea Factory made a special announcement this week via their Facebook page… A limited time only Hakuouki themed Festival and Cafe!
    • To find out more about the event and to RSVP check out their FB page, HERE!
  • GB Patch’s upcoming fantasy romance visual novel, A Foretold Affair will be released on January 30th!!
    • If you are still on the fence about the game, feel free to check out the demo which can be downloaded, HERE!
  •  RoseVeRte‘s newest title, CAFE 0 ~The Sleeping Beast~ is now available for purchase through the Google Play store, HERE!
    • The game costs $17.99!
  • The Kickstarter Campaign for Spirit Kinder Games’s upcoming supernatural romance visual novel, Wicked Love, launched this week!!
    • Check out the campaign, HERE.
  • The Kickstarter Campaign for Studio Theophilus’s upcoming fantasy fusion romance visual novel, Zodiac•Axis, launched this week!!
    • Check out the campaign, HERE.
  • There is currently a Flash Sale in the PSN Store until, Jan. 23rd @ 8AM PT!
    • Take advantage of this sale before the deadline and pick up some awesome titles at a discounted price… Some as low as $4.99!!
  • Team Penguin, a Korean based indie game developer is currently running a survey to gauge interest in their planned visual novel, Tale of Puppet in the West!
    • Check out the survey and their official announcement, HERE!
    • Note: English is not the first language for this so developer, but the survey and their official Twitter account are in English!
  • Michaela Laws, creator of the supernatural romance series Seduce Me just announced a new Valentines Day themed game, Valentine Panic via her Twitter account!
    • For the official announcement post click, HERE!!

Ongoing News:

  • In order to bring us the best game possible, Dicesuki Games decided to delay the release of their upcoming fantasy visual novel, Cinderella Phenomenon until February.
    • The demo is available for download, HERE!
  • The Kickstarter Campaign for Aeon Dream Studio’s upcoming dark fantasy visual novel, Mystic Destinies: Echoes, the sequel to their 2016 debut title, Mystic Destinies: Serendipity of Aeons is over 60% funded with 14 days left!!
    • Check out the campaign, HERE.
  • Naive Sprites is currently looking for feedback about their recent Kickstarter Campaign for their planned Alice in Wonderland themed visual novel, A Very Important Date. 
    • Check out their announcement, HERE, for links to the survey!
  • The Third Annual MangaGamer licensing survey is now open!! Fill out the survey and let MG know which games you’d like to see brought to the West!!
    • Check out their announcement, HERE, for links to the survey!
    • Everyone that completes the survey will be entered into a raffle for a free copy of Da Capo III R!
  • January marks the start of the third Dating Sim Community Game- Along! Check out the official post over at Chic-Pixel.com for details… HERE!
  • The English localization of Otomate’s Period: Cube ~ Shackles of Amadeus ~ finally has an official release date of April 25th, 2017!
    • Amazon is officially accepting pre-orders, HERE!
  • D3Publisher’s Hyakka Hyakurou: Sengoku Ninpoujou is getting an English release on steam under the name Nightshade!
    • The game will be fully voiced and will $34.99!
    • However, upon it’s release Nightshade will be available for 20% off the retail price!!
    • For more information about the game, check out the Official Site!
  • Pre-orders for Hakuouki: Kyoto Winds (Hakuouki: Shinkai – Kaze no Shou) are now available, HERE!!
    • Read the announcement, HERE!

housekeeping

owl

The very first OWLS Blog Tour is underway, January’s topic focuses on Disruptors in Anime!

To disrupt” has a negative denotation, but rather than looking at the verb in a negative light, we are going to use the verb in a positive way. It’s like the word, “protest” which has positive and negative connotations depending on the perspective of the person.”
Disruptors: An individual or a group disturbing a system or social norms/conventions that they believe is destroying what is morally right. 

Each OWLS member will be uploading their individual posts throughout the month of January! This week’s Blog Tour guides were LynLyn from Just Something About LynLyn, who wrote about the disruptors in Ouran High School Host Club and Crimson from Crimson Blogs at Night, who wrote about the disruptors in Erased! There are a handful Blog Tour Stops left for the month so be on the look out for announcements on the Official OWLS Twitter @OWLSbloggers, where I will keep you guys updated on each of the upcoming posts and other OWLS news!


Poll Results for… What’s your ideal otome/otoge guy? [Choose Up to 3]

results-14

First, I want to say that I was blown away by the overwhelming response I got with last week’s poll. There were 189 votes, which is way more than I got for any of the other polls I’ve run in the past and for that I have you guys to thank! Thank you to everyone that participated in the poll!!

*claps hands* So the results… I’m not gonna lie, I was actually surprised to see that a majority of you guys preferred the Sweet/Nice Guy types (25 votes), I was expecting Confident/Alpha Males to take the top spot! I’m happy to see that my Megane men made it into the top ten with 12 votes!! Overall you guys voted favorably towards the more down to earth character archetypes as opposed to the more out there types. As always there were some Other votes: 1) Talented and 2) ALMOST ALL, BABY. ALMOST ALL (and yes, it was in all caps like that).


I really want to hear from you guys, let me know what you think of Nice Job Breaking It, Hero. What do you think about this change? Do you guys like my posts? Is there something you think I should fix or add? Please feel free to let me know here in the comments section, or you can use this contact form!

Page Jumps: Weekly Blog Recap, Weekly News Recap, Week Ahead, Weekly Blogger Spotlight


the week ahead

pretending to write

Like I said at the start of this post I spent most of the week slacking off, so I’m still playing catch up… I’m working on two reviews that I hope to have done early next week, one is for a Voltage Inc game and the other is a full game review for a short OELVN! I’m also going to try and squeeze in a demo review for an upcoming visual novel, but I’m still working on getting through the demo… I also have a very special post coming out this week that was inspired by MelinAnimeland, Heyitszel, and Jill…so look for that sometime this week Mwahahahahaaa!! Ah, yeah, and my OWLS Disruptors post will be out on Monday!!

Thrifty Thursday will go up as scheduled with three brand new thrifty gaming picks for you all to try and for Fangirl Friday, I plan on writing about a DJ I read this week !

**Week 4 of the OWLS Disruptors Blog Tour is underway, with posts from Me (Pokeninja90) (Nice Job Breaking It, Hero) and Pink-chan (Pinky’s Place) coming out on Jan. 23rd and 27th respectively.**


vote.jpg

The next poll is… What kinds of posts should I write more of? The poll will be open until February 4th at 11:59 PM UTC!  You can find it in the side bar (or if you are using a phone/tablet @ the bottom of the page). If you still can’t find it, click the link HERE! I look forward to your responses!

Page Jumps: Weekly Blog Recap, Weekly News Recap, HousekeepingWeekly Blogger Spotlight


Blogger spotlight banner

Here we are again at the end of another Recap Post, where I highlight four interesting posts from other bloggers that showed up on my Reader this past week…

The Beauty of Older Animes!!!This post comes from Anime Reviewer Girl from Anime Reviewr Girl! So technically this isn’t a blog post, but I really enjoy this vlogger’s videos and discussions so I added it to this week’s lineup anyway!! In this vid, Anime Reviewer Girl talks about Older Anime! With so many shiny newer titles, folks tend to pass on some of the older titles out there. This is an interesting topic and a must watch for all anime fans out there!

Impressions: Ten CountThis post comes from Cat from Another Gaming DayOkay, so it’s no secret that I love BL manga, I’ve even written a few posts about them in the past… But, a few months ago I came across one called Ten Count that I absolutely adored!! So when I saw this post in my reader, I just had to include it in this week’s lineup! This is a short and sweet write up on the series and a must read for BL fans!!

The Case for a Gay Romance in the Fantastic Beasts Sequels– This post comes from Lady Geek Girl from Lady Geek Girl and FriendsI am a huge Harry Potter fan,  I have all the books and I’ve seen all of the movies, including the most recent spin off film, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. The film focuses on a new protagonist, Newt Scamander and the events that occurred prior to the that fateful night in Godric’s Hollow! In this interesting post, this blogger makes a case for the Fantastic Beasts sequels to focus on the romantic relationship between future Hogwarts Headmaster Albus Dumbledore and dark wizard, Gellert Grindelwald! This is a fantastic post and a must read for fans of HP!!

We Fly Baby !!: Haikyuu !!!This post comes from Lita Kino from Lita Kino Anime Corner! Last but certainly not least is a review about one of my all time favorite sports anime, Haikyuu!!! After weeks of urging on twitter from both Kat and myself… and the rest of the aniblogger community, Lita took the plunge and FINALLY watched Haikyuu!!! This is a fantastic overview of the series and a must read for both fans of the series and folks still on the fence about watching it!!


So here we are at the end of this week’s post! Be sure to check out some of the bloggers from this week’s Weekly Blogger Spotlight, and drop them a line! Strike up a conversation or make a new friend! Don’t be shy get out there and mingle! 😉 Also, don’t worry if your post wasn’t featured in this week’s recap, keep writing and keep posting! I’ll keep my eye out!

See something in your Reader this week that you wanna share? Tell me what you think about my post? Anything you want to see more of? Less of? Have an idea for a post? Shoot me a line in the comments section  or Message me on Twitter! Don’t be shy, I swear I don’t bite! I appreciate input and discussions from my readers so let your voice be heard…and finally, as always Thank You for reading!

Page Jumps: Weekly Blog Recap, Weekly News Recap, Housekeeping, Week Ahead, Weekly Blogger Spotlight

8 thoughts on “Last Week Today: Week End Recap- Jan. 15th to Jan. 21st

  1. Good luck with getting back on the horse /says she as she is slacking off too
    Thanks for linking/shout out to my post aaah, I’m glad you approve 🙏👌✨
    Also great shout ours to the rest, especially Lita falling to Haikyuu heavenhell ohoho! (͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL I’m just pushing ahead and it was my pleasure! I love Ten Count, I’ve already started buying the volumes and I got Hazel to pre-order vol 3 the other day mwahahahaaa!!

      Yup yup every blogger this week had some amazing posts!! 😀

      Like

  2. OK, so don’t kill me ls, but I was the one with the “ALMOST ALL, BABY. ALMOST ALL”. And that’s because the only ones I truly hate are yanderes(Eeep! No thanks!), Confident/Alpha Males(unless they break the tradition or somethin’) and Bitch in Sheep’s Clothing/Two Faced(Too bad Ota from KBTBB has such a gorgeous design, he’s such a…jerk, in order to avoid worse words although he deserves them.)
    The Inauguration was not this much of an amazing event, but I must admit, I loved Melania’s dress(Truth be told, I’m a fashionista at heart and I absolutely love fashion as well as creating fashion designs) and all the memes that were born from this event.
    So I love all this week’s post, the Obama one really moved me, I like all the games you told us to support and the ones shown at Thrifty Gaming and all in all, I loved everything.
    Amazing job as always, sempai! Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol that was you?! I was wondering who that was 😄 I feel you about all of those! Yanderes would scare the crap out of me in real life and two faced characters are pretty hit or miss with me…and you know how I feel about confident alpha males lol

      Same, it was a heartbreaking event, but it’s over and there’s nothing we can do about it. Fashionista, ya don’t say! Yeah I gotta agree with ya there her dress was gorgeous!

      Yeah I had to do something for Obama… send him off in my own way!😊

      Aww thank you for always being so supportive!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

