Last Week Today: Week End Recap- Aug. 21st to Aug. 27th

Hello Heroes and Travelers, here we are at the end of another week here on Nice Job Breaking It, Hero!As some of you may know I was experiencing some technical difficulties with WordPress. Earlier this week I found myself unable to comment on other bloggers’s posts… So imagine my surprise when I discovered that all of my comments were being sent to you guy’s spam folders! I have since had the problem fixed, but I suggest you all check your spam folders regularly in case others are experiencing the same problem.

hit it

Okay now that I’m done with that, I actually have some good news! We finally heard back from the journal we sent our manuscript to… *drumroll* They want us to fix some things and resubmit… I know it sounds bad, but this is actually really good news and the comments they had were mostly positive. But, since I’m the first author on the paper, I’m responsible for bringing the paper up to snuff. So, what does that mean for you guys and the blog? Well, the paper takes priority, so if I go ghost you know why…

Page Jumps: Weekly Blog Recap, Weekly News Recap, Housekeeping, Week Ahead, Weekly Blogger Spotlight


weekly blog recap

  1. Sentimental Trickster- Demo Review A short review on a promising upcoming 18+ BL visual novel. The concept for the game was developed by Justyna Pustelnik. The Kickstarter campaign is winding down, but there is still time to spread the word and show your support before the Aug. 28th deadline (3:55PM EDT).
  2. So I’ve Kinda Been Nominated for the Entertainer Blogger Award!!– Special shout out to Mr. Panda for nominating me for the Entertainer Blogger Award! Woohooo! So, here’s my award response post and my 15 nominations!
  3. If I were a Gym Leader: My Pokemon Gym-Pokemon Tag Another shout out to Matt in the Hat for tagging me in the My Pokemon Gym challenge! In this post I write up what I’d want in my Pokemon gym if I were chosen to be a Gym Leader!
  4. Fangirl Moment: Waiting So for this week’s Fangirl Moment post, I decided to write about one of my favorite books, Waiting by Ha Jin. I absolutely love love love this book!
  5. [Review] English Visual Novel-The Shadows That Run Alongside Our Car This was a spur of the moment post about a recently released game from Lox Rain. This is by far one of the best games I have played all year!

Page Jumps: Weekly News Recap, Housekeeping, Week Ahead, Weekly Blogger Spotlight


weekly news recap

So, in case you missed them, here were the PokeNews announcements:

  • The Arceus serial code distribution is now over!
    • But, if you still have your serial codes laying around, you still have time input your game. Codes expire on November 20, 2016!
  • In the newest Pokemon Go update, players can now have their Pokemon appraised by their Team Leaders.
  • With the Pokemon Sun and Moon release date (Nov. 18th) only three months away, the Pokemon Company and Nintendo have been bombarding us with a ton of new reveals:
  • For Pokemon Trainers with a Pokemon Trainer Club Newsletter email subscription, received a serial code for Mew, in case you missed the February Distribution.
    • The serial code is good until August 31st 2016!

New This Week:

  • There is a little less than a month left in the Kickstarter campaign from the upcoming steampunk visual novel, A Foretold Affair developed by GB Patch.
    • There is a demo available for download on the itch.io page, HERE.
  • The demo is available for the upcoming GB Patch game XOXO Droplets on their itchi.io page, HERE.
  • The Indiegogo campaign for The Bell Chimes for Gold failed to reach their funding goal.
    • The creators have turned to Patreon to obtain funds for the project.
  • Notice Me Senpai is currently holding a special School Festival Event!!
    • 2 New Senpais were introduced for the event
    • Exchange event tickets for special School Festival themed items.

Ongoing News:

  • Lox Rain released a brand new PC game, The Shadows that Run Alongside Our Car. The game is free, but players can also name their own prices as well. It is available for download on itch.io, HERE.
  • We finally have an official English release date for the upcoming sixth Ace Attorney game,Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney-Spirit of Justice and it’s…. September 8th, 2016!
  • Steins;Gate 0, sequel to the 2009 visual novel, Steins;Gate will be released in both Europe and North America for Playstation 4 and PS Vita on September 27th!
  • Aksys is going to localize Chase: Cold Case Investigations- Distant Memories for the Nintendo 3DS for release later this year!!
  • There is a new online game from the developers behind the episodic visual novel, My Candy Love. The new game Eldarya is set to start up on September 12th!
    • Interested players can now pre-register for the game, HERE.
  • The demo for the upcoming indie visual novel, Queen’s Crown is now available for download,HERE!
  • Pre-orders for Precatio’s upcoming project, Kokorogawari are now open, HERE.
    • You can either purchase the Standard Edition (just the game) for $20.00 or the Deluxe Edition (game+ soundtrack+ digital art book) for $30.00!!
  • Michaela Laws (creator of the Seduce Me series) is using her Patreon account to acquire funding for a new project titled, All For You! If your would like to pledge to the Patreon check,HERE.
  • Aksys Games is attempting to localize Hakuouki: Sweet School Life  in English, however Idea Factory needs a little convincing.
    • If you would like to see the game localized, let IF Japan know directly… contact linksHERE(via English Otome Games)

This Week’s Voltage Releases:

*Fans’ Choice Awards 2016 Top 10 Sale Ends August 28th 2016 (JST)!*

  • All of the stories for the top 10 Fans’ Choice Winners are on sale! 61 stories from 6 apps!
    • Star Crossed Myth: Scorpio, Zyglavis, Leon, and Huedhaut
    • Kissed by the Baddest Bidder: Eisuke and Soryu
    • Scandal in the Spotlight: Kyohei
    • Love Letter from Thief X: Takuto
    • Metro PD: Close to You: Kirisawa
    • Our Two Bedroom Story: Tsumugu

After School Affairs

  • Summer Academy of Love special story is now available for purchase!
    • Characters: Shinichi and Kiyonori

Enchanted in the Moonlight

  • What He Never Told You special story is now available for purchase!
    • Character: Miyabi

Era of Samurai-Code of Love

  • A Wanton Amusement- Harada is now available for purchase!
    • Special voiced story!

Kissed By the Baddest Bidder

  • Season 3.5: Scattered Cards- Ota is now available for purchase.

Our Two Bedroom Story

  • Kaoru’s Cool Collection is now available for purchase!
    • Contains 5 special stories: Jealous Boyfriend, Your Wish My Command, Rainy Day Date, Your Lovely Touch, and Bedroom Secrets

Voltage AmeMix Releases:

  • New AmeMix title announced: Castaway: Love’s Adventure! Check out the game’s webpage,HERE.
  • Chimera’s Season 3 Main Story 1 is now available for purchase in Astoria Fates Kiss.
  • Ash Winters Season 2: Sinful Kiss Part 2 is now available for purchase in Gangsters in Love.

Page Jumps: Weekly Blog RecapHousekeeping, Week Ahead, Weekly Blogger Spotlight



housekeeping

Here are the results for the previous poll, What topics should I write more about?:

results 6

There were a total of 19 votes in this poll, so thank you to everyone who voted! It seems like a majority of you want more Boys Love/Yaoi, with  11 votes. For those of you that voted for BL/Yaoi…you’ll be getting your wish sooner rather than later! But, I’m actually surprised that Otome/Otoge only received 4 votes, I thought more of you would have voted for that…

I really want to hear from you guys, let me know what you think of Nice Job Breaking It, Hero. What do you think about this change? Do you guys like my posts? Is there something you think I should fix or add? Please feel free to let me know here in the comments section, or you can ask me anonymously on Tumblr (just let me know that you’re from WordPress)!

Page Jumps: Weekly Blog Recap, Weekly News RecapWeek Ahead, Weekly Blogger Spotlight

the week ahead

I am still wading through my gaming backlog, expect some unscheduled posts here and there as I try to clean house a bit. So, the week’s planned posts…

  • Monday: Full game review for the 18+ BL game, Sleepover. *This will be a NSFW review*
  • Tuesday: [nothing planned]
  • Wednesday: Demo review for the upcoming 18+ BL game, Seiyuu Danshi. *This is a SFW review*
  • Thursday: Pokemon 20th Anniversary September Distribution-Victini
  • Friday: Another surprise for this week’s Fangirl Moment post!

The new poll is: What What Voltage Character Should I Play Next? An old poll with some new choices!! Let me know which Voltage guy I should review in October!  The poll will be open until October 1st at 11:59PM!  You can find it in the side bar (or if you are using a phone/tablet @ the bottom of the page). If you still can’t find it, click the link HERE! I look forward to your responses!

Page Jumps: Weekly Blog Recap, Weekly News Recap, HousekeepingWeekly Blogger Spotlight


Blogger spotlight banner

Here we are again at the end of another Recap Post, where I highlight four interesting posts from other bloggers that showed up on my Reader this past week…

Dear Authors: I’m Begging You To Stop Epiloguing– This post comes from Lady Saika over at Lady Geek Girl and Friends. This post takes a look at a recent trend that has some fans up in arms against even their favorite authors… epiloguing! This blogger covers the pitfalls of authors deciding to prolong their stories long after series has ended. This is an informative piece and a must read for anyone who has fallen prey to the sugary sweet world of epilogues!

Why Fan OTP Ships Upset Me– This post comes from Kausus over at Otaku Gamer Zone. Here’s another post about the tumultuous world fan shipping. This blogger looks at how some fan OTP ships can ruin the overall anime, manga, etc. experience for fans that aren’t in favor of a particular ship. This is a very honest and well written post and I highly recommend giving it a read if you have the chance!

My Terrible First Date ExperienceThis post comes from Kurosama238 over at Two Happy Cats. Time heals most wounds, in this post this blogger shares a personal tale of a first date gone wrong. This is a very personal and candid account of one of the worst first date experience ever. Despite the horrible situations recounted in the post, the author still manages to interject a few humorous remarks. I highly recommend reading this post!

Top 6 English Anime Openings– This post comes from NEETaku over at Just…My Two Cents. When I read this post, I was immediately hit by a wave of childhood nostalgia! Like the title says this blogger compiled a list of the best English Anime Openings. Each song on the list is a fun throw back to the bygone years of childhood and I highly recommend checking this post out if you have the chance!

Page Jumps: Weekly Blog Recap, Weekly News Recap, Housekeeping, Week Ahead


So here we are at the end of this week’s post! Be sure to check out some of the bloggers from this week’s Weekly Blogger Spotlight, and drop them a line! Strike up a conversation or make a new friend! Don’t be shy get out there and mingle!😉Also, don’t worry if your post wasn’t featured in this week’s post, keep writing and keep posting! I’ll keep my eye out!

See something in your Reader this week that you wanna share? Tell me what you think about my post? Anything you want to see more of? Less of? Have an idea for a post? Shoot me a line in the comments section  or Ask Me anonymously on my Tumblr! Don’t be shy, I swear I don’t bite! I appreciate input and discussions from my readers so let your voice be heard…and finally, as always Thank You for reading!

19 thoughts on “Last Week Today: Week End Recap- Aug. 21st to Aug. 27th

    1. It sure can! Thank goodness I was able to get the problem fixed.

      Oh man you’re missing out! Pokemon Black and White had a really great story. Oh man you should, it’s supposed to be different from the other main series games so I’m looking forward it when it’s released.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Congrats on being accepted to the journal!
    Really great selections for the blogger splotlight this week too (σ`・∀・´)σ
    Looking forward to your BL posts incoming, super curious what you’ll be saying about them (。+・`ω・´)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always look forward to your weekly wrap ups 😄
    Hmm I thought there’d be more votes for otoge too lol
    Can’t believe Chase is being localized-it’s amazing 😄
    Sorry wordpress derped out on you but so glad that eveyrthing worked out for you.
    And omg I’m sorry but what newspaper are you talking about? I think I missed this in another post during my classes.

    And do you have any recommendations for otoge with fairy tale elements in it like Be My Princess? I freaking love princes rofl

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you Leafy!! 🙂

      Same, I dunno why though all of the search results on my Stats page are BL/Yaoi related…

      OMG I am so ready for Chase! I have been ready for this game since Mr. Panda tipped me off about it a few months ago!!

      Oh it’s not a newspaper lol, it’s a Public Health journal. For my Graduation Capstone project, we had to write a research paper and at the end of the project we had the opportunity to submit it for publication. I think i was complaining about it in some of my previous LWT posts (like March-May). Well we finally heard back from the journal and because I chose to be first author I ‘m in charge of the revisions.

      Ah…otoge with fairy tale elements… let’s see you’ve already played Cinders… there’s Lads in Distress for the PC…. Umm as for mobile games…there’s BMP 2 from Voltage er… Grimm from Genius… those are just off the top of my head… lol hope that helps

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m gonna start working on the revisions tomorrow so expect a lot of vague ranting on twitter lol 😄

        No problem! I have an idea I actually want to run by you. I’ll message you on Twitter in a bit

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

