Last Week Today: Week End Recap- Jul. 17th to Jul. 23rd

Hello Heroes and Travelers, here we are at the end of another week here on Nice Job Breaking It, Hero! Okay guys I have some big news… Remember the summer job I mentioned back in June? Well, my paperwork was finally finished and I finally have a start date: My official start date is August 1st! Woohoo!!! So what kind of job is it? I will be doing what I love to do, research! My alma mater received a grant from the Department of Health to take part in a public health research project and I was brought on to work on the data analysis portion of the project! I’ll also be administering some of the surveys for the project too!! But, what’s really exciting about this project is that it is completely run and operated by women of color!! So I am doubly exciting to be working with such a dynamic team of women, doing something that I love!!

celebrate.gif

So what is going to top that? Not much, the rest of my week seems pretty mundane in comparison, but I’m gonna share it anyway!! I saw the new Ghostbusters movie, and I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked it! The film was much better than I anticipated… Hmm, let’s see,  I went to Six Flags with some friends which was fun until I realized I’d gotten sun burn on my face… Reason #1 why I limit my outdoor activity time during the Summer…


weekly blog recap

  1. 30 Day Anime Challenge- Day 17: My Favorite Supporting Male Anime Character– So, for Day 17, I picked a character that is one of the coolest shinobi to ever come out of the Hidden Leaf Village!
  2. 30 Day Anime Challenge- Day 18: My Favorite Supporting Female Anime Character– This character taught me that girls don’t have to be princesses that need saving, girls can be their own heroes! This is one of my favorite anime characters of all time!
  3. 30 Day Anime Challenge- Day 19: Most Epic Scene Ever– So, my pick for Day 19 is so epic that it’s hilarious! This scene takes a mundane activity like eating and turns it up to 11!
  4. 30 Day Anime Challenge- Day 20: An Anime character that gets on my nerves– These are the worst of the worst… the anime characters that always manage to piss me off every time they show up on screen…
  5. 30 Day Anime Challenge- Day 21: Favorite goofy character from an anime– So, for day 21 I took some liberties with my choice for my favorite goofy anime character. The character I chose is the coolest guy in high school, with a flair for the unconventional.
  6. Fangirl Moment: Orange Junk– So for this week’s Fangirl Moment post I decided to cover one of my favorite ongoing webcomic series, Orange Junk by Heldrad. This is a fun slice of life comic with the soul of a shoujo manga and a must read for lovers of the genre!
  7. 30 Day Anime Challenge- Day 22: Favorite Weapon/Gear from an anime– This post is all about anime weapons, big guns and even bigger swords! But, for my choice I went with something a little unconventional…
  8. 30 Day Anime Challenge- Day 23: Favorite attack someone used in an anime– If you are expecting a serious answer Day 23’s prompt: My favorite anime attack… you’ve come to the wrong place. In fact this is probably one of the silliest attacks used in an anime, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t think long and hard about my answer…

weekly news recap

So, in case you missed them, here were the PokeNews announcements:

  • Pokemon GO finally available in Japan!
  • There were some more new Pokemon  revealed for the upcoming 7th Generation Pokemon games Sun and Moon… some were better received than others.
  • The release date for Pokemon Sun and Moon is November 18th 2016 (Nov.23rd for Europe)!
  • Today is the last day to get the July Legendary Distribution Pokemon, Shaymin through Nintendo WiFi!!!
  • For Pokemon Trainers with a Pokemon Trainer Club Newsletter email subscription, received a serial code for Mew, in case you missed the February Distribution. The serial code is good until August 31st 2016!

Ongoing News:

  • Aksys Games is attempting to localize Hakuouki: Sweet School Life  in English, however Idea Factory needs a little convincing.
    • If you would like to see the game localized, let IF Japan know directly… contact links HERE(via English Otome Games)
  • Talk about a blast from the past, Nintendo is re-releasing their classic Nintendo Entertainment System: NES Classic Edition in November, fully loaded with 30 classic games!!
  • Who says money can’t buy love? The Indiegogo campaign for The Bell Chimes for Gold is now live, check out the campaign, HERE!
  • So you guys remember the Kenka Bancho Otome post I wrote back in March about letting Spike Chunsoft know that there is a market for otoge in the West… Well there is now a petition for the Localization of the Kenka Bancho Otome, click HERE to show your support!
  • Pre-orders for Precatio’s upcoming project, Kokorogawari are now open, HERE.
    • You can either purchase the Standard Edition (just the game) for $20.00 or the Deluxe Edition (game+ soundtrack+ digital art book) for $30.00!!
  • Mystic Messanger is now available in the Google Play Store.
    • However, please be aware that the system is experiencing server issues. Cheritz is working to correct the issue, but be mindful that there will be login issues.
  • Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney-Spirit of Justice, featuring both Phoenix and Apollo, will be coming to the West in September 2016! I will keep ya’ll posted on that in the coming months.

This Week’s Voltage Releases:

*Voltage Announced its Fan Choice Awards to start July 26th*

After School Affairs

  • Season 2: Kiyonori – Dormitory for Adults Main Story and Ending Set now available for purchase.
  • Season 2: Rikiya His Dormitory POV and Private Day Off stories are now available for purchase.

Butler Until Midnight

[No Updates]

Enchanted in the Moonlight

  • Ayakashi Career Change sub story now available for purchase!

Era of Samurai-Code of Love

[No Updates]

Kissed By the Baddest Bidder

  • Bound in Love: Soryu Oh now available for purchase!
  • Season 3.5 Scattered Cards-Soryu Oh Main Story and Epilogue now available for purchase!

My Forged Wedding

[No Updates]

My Last First Kiss

  • Season 2 Living Together Hiroki is now available for purchase!

Our Two Bedroom Story

  • Ayame’s Main Story His POV is now available for purchase!

Scandal in the Spotlight

[No Updates]

Star Crossed Myth

[No Updates]

Voltage AmeMix Releases:

  • Cerberus’s Season 3 Main Story 2 is now available for purchase in Astoria Fates Kiss.
  • TWO special 1 Year Anniversary Stories: The Perfect Private Party and Cause for Celebration.
  • All characters Season 1 stories are available for purchase as Bundles (20% off) in Astoria Fates Kiss.
  • Chance Valentine’s Season 2: Sinful Kiss Part 3 is now available for purchase in Gangsters in Love.

housekeeping

I really want to hear from you guys, let me know what you think of Nice Job Breaking It, Hero. What do you think about this change? Do you guys like my posts? Is there something you think I should fix or add? Please feel free to let me know here in the comments section, or you can ask me anonymously on Tumblr (just let me know that you’re from WordPress)!

the week ahead

This is the final leg of the 30 Day Anime Challenge, after this week Nice Job Breaking It, Hero will be back to our regularly scheduled game reviews… But until then, there are six more posts left in the challenge!!

  • Sunday: 30 Day Anime Challenge- Day 24: The moment that shocked me the most in an anime
  • Monday: 30 Day Anime Challenge- Day 25: Saddest Anime Death
  • Tuesday: 30 Day Anime Challenge- Day 26: Best Anime Fight
  • Wednesday: 30 Day Anime Challenge- Day 27: Most badass scene from an anime character
  • Thursday: 30 Day Anime Challenge- Day 28: Favorite quote from an anime character
  • Friday:  

1) So for Fangirl Friday I have no idea what I’m going to write about… so I guess we’ll all be surprised come Friday!!

2) 30 Day Anime Challenge- Day 29: An anime I wished was real

  • Saturday: 30 Day Anime Challenge- Day 30: An anime I wish never ended and just continued its story

This week’s poll is: What’s your favorite anime genre? I’m doing the 30 Day Anime Challenge for the entire month of July so I thought why not have a poll that reflects that… Let me know by voting! The poll will be open until July 30th at 11:59PM!  You can find it in the side bar (or if you are using a phone/tablet @ the bottom of the page). If you still can’t find it, click the link HERE! I look forward to your responses!

Blogger spotlight banner

Here we are again at the end of another Recap Post, where I highlight four interesting posts from other bloggers that showed up on my Reader this past week…

Hajime no Ippo– I’m not one for sports manga/anime, so forgive me for not having seen Hajime no Ippo yet (if it’s any consolation, I’ve seen Ashita no Joe)…Well this blogger gives a short, but informative look into the fighting anime powerhouse that has captured the hearts of many an anime fan!

Pokemon GO (Mobile) Review If Pokemon Go is your first foray into the wonderful world of Pokemon or you are an old fan, this is the post for you! This author gives an in depth look at the mobile app that is sweeping the globe, Pokemon Go! This post covers the ins and outs of the game from catching Pokemon to challenging Gyms, it’s all here! This blogger also touches on the community aspect of the game and the waves it’s making in the gaming community. I highly recommend giving this post a read!!

You Mean You Haven’t Watched Ouran– I don’t know if I’ve said this before, but I love Ouran High School Host Club!! The characters, the story…EVERYTHING! This blogger does a great job of introducing readers OHSHC, while including some interesting personal commentary on the themes present in the series! This is a must read!!

Let’s Talk About: Pokemon GO, T-mobile, and Net Neutrality– Finally, rounding out the list this week is an article that looks at a different side of the Pokemon Go craze that is currently sweeping the globe. This blogger is looking at the influx of businesses and companies scrambling to get a piece of that sweet Pokemon Go action. From small businesses to large corporations, everyone is trying to take advantage of the newest mobile app. But, with T-mobile announcing free unlimited data for users of the new app, the future of net neutrality is being brought into question. This is a very informative post and a must read for all!


So here we are at the end of this week’s post! Be sure to check out some of the bloggers from this week’s Weekly Blogger Spotlight, and drop them a line! Strike up a conversation or make a new friend! Don’t be shy get out there and mingle!😉Also, don’t worry if your post wasn’t featured in this week’s post, keep writing and keep posting! I’ll keep my eye out!

See something in your Reader this week that you wanna share? Tell me what you think about my post? Anything you want to see more of? Less of? Have an idea for a post? Shoot me a line in the comments section  or Ask Me anonymously on my Tumblr! Don’t be shy, I swear I don’t bite! I appreciate input and discussions from my readers so let your voice be heard…and finally, as always Thank You for reading!

8 thoughts on “Last Week Today: Week End Recap- Jul. 17th to Jul. 23rd

  1. Wow a lot has happened. I really need to see your days of the challenge. Congratulations on your achievement :). I’m not sure if I want to but I am thinking about doing the 30 day anime challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, so much at once lol. But, that’s a good thing! Oh if you do let me know what you think of my 30 Day Anime Challenge posts!

      Oh definitely give it a try, I’d love to see your answers (but it is super time consuming)!

      side note: I’m still working on that Pokemon Gym post lol, the Anime Challenge has just been taking up a whole lot of time.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Take your time and finish your anime challenge. No worries. I need to start thinking of my answers if I do the challenge. I hear it is time consuming lol. So far, I am liking your answers. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! So happy for you that you get to do what you want to do! It’s exciting that you got a grant for your research too. Sounds like really cool stuff!

    Also thanks so much for the shoutout! I appreciate it a lot! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

