My Childhood Friend is Kinda Crazy: Amnesia: Memories-Toma Review

Related Posts:

Shin Review

Ikki Review

Kent Review

Ukyo Review

Toma…Toma, Toma, Toma…sigh…Toma…I know I said this before, but I really have mixed feelings about childhood friend routes. Some are amazingly sweet, especially when executed well, while others…not so much. I don’t really like childhood friend stories at the best of times and from what I’d seen of Toma in Shin’s route, let’s just say that I was not overly thrilled to play his route. I didn’t need to get the end of Shin’s route to suspect that beneath his big brother act was a seriously twisted and messed up individual. The first indication that this route was different from the previous three was the addition of the Doubt indicator on the Parameters screen. The second indication was the fact that his Suspicion indicator is maxed out from the beginning. None of the other guys started at 100% Suspiscion, not even Shin, and he was accused of pushing the MC off a cliff. And even then I had to work for it! So then, I began wondering: What makes Toma so special? Why is his route so different? Well I’m afraid the answer is simple…he’s batshit crazy psycho insane in love with the MC.

*Side Note: I will not have an MC/Heroine section in this review…I feel that there just isn’t enough about her to fill an entire section in this game. I was actually really disappointed by the MC in this game.

Disclaimer: I don’t own these images, they belong to Idea Factory…and this goes without saying, but there will be SPOILERS under the cut…


Dude has a Cage Fetish

IMG_1309
…I’d rather stay in the hospital

So this route starts off differently from the rest, in that Toma isn’t the MC’s boyfriend in this world, that and the MC wakes up outside on the street. After choosing the Diamond world, Orion attempts to return the MC to her location before their consciousnesses collided, but something interrupts him and she ends up passed out in the middle of the road. While the MC is half conscious and confused Toma arrives to save the day. His appearance triggers a very important memory and causes the MC to lose the ability to see Orion. But, before they can worry about that new development, Toma is dragging the MC away to the hospital. Since she has no one to rely on Toma offers to go to her home and retrieve some of her essentials. He even takes care of all of the doctor’s questions and the medical paperwork for her. After that the MC is forced to stay in the hospital for three days causing her amnesia condition to deteriorate due to the lack of stimulation within the hospital. The doctors run a battery of tests, but when they can’t find anything wrong they decide to release her into Toma’s care…

IMG_1321
Shin…please save me from this route!

Toma is the typical big brother/childhood friend character, protective and reliable. Initially he’s attentive and kind, hell he’s positively normal. He takes care of the MC’s every need,  while she is in the hospital since her parents live far away and long after that. He even stays with her the day after she leaves the hospital, watching over her like a guardian angel. There’s this really sweet scene where he falls asleep at her bedside. Orion is even impressed by his dedication, gushing over how well he cares for the MC. He even suggests that Toma might be the MC’s boyfriend. When she questions Toma about their relationship, he is quick to confirm that he is indeed her boyfriend. Orion is relieved that the MC is in good hands and encourages the MC to trust Toma. Hell, I found myself trusting Toma for a bit…that is until he let slip that he only sees the MC as a sister…which is strange coming from someone who claims to be her boyfriend. But, naively I let it pass, maybe he was just trying to reassure the MC that he wasn’t some type of sexual predator. He even makes excuses for her at her job so that the stress of working won’t interfere with her recovery. When he realizes that the MC is being harassed he offers to let her stay at his place until the trouble dies down. He was a dream, and if I didn’t know better Toma might have actually given Kent a run for his money as best route in the game. But, I did know better and the entire time Toma was doting on the MC, I was sitting in my seat munching my popcorn, waiting for the other shoe to drop. And boy did Toma deliver!

IMG_1405.PNG
I bet you do…

In this route the MC has had an unrequited crush on Toma for almost 19 years, but big brother Toma has been too stupid to notice. So the MC seeks the assistance of Ikki in winning the heart of her oblivious big bro. If you’ll think back with me for a moment to Ikki’s route, you’ll remember that Ikki has a murderous cult of fangirls following him around 24-7…so you can see where this is going… Her secret meetings with her love guru senpai don’t go unnoticed by the fan club, who in retaliation begin harassing the MC. The antics of the fangirls in Toma’s route make the Ikki route fangirls look tame. In this route their harassment is turned up to eleven. At first they start in with threatening texts and emails. From there they move on to defacing the MC’s home and filling her mailbox with garbage and rotten food. But, their grandest prank by far is when they spread rumors about the MC online and then sharing her personal information with perverts who follow her around and send her suggestive messages. However, rather than call the cops and report the abuse, she does nothing, like it’s just business as usual. She doesn’t tell anyone about it, and it isn’t until her accident that Toma even finds out about it. Which prompts him to assume his ultimate form: Super Protective Big Brother Toma. He then drags her to his house under the guise of monitoring her condition, but in reality he wants to keep her locked up until he can take care of the fangirl problem.

IMG_1355
Understatement of the year

From the minute the MC enters Toma’s home the red flags and alarms started going off, something was just not right about him. Sure he was nice, but he was almost too nice! While she was living with him, he would cook meals for her everyday and he even slept on the floor so that she wouldn’t have to, which was actually really sweet. He even secretly went to her house everyday to clean up her mailbox and whatever else the fan club messed up that morning. He even went so far as to buy her a new phone and hide her computer’s battery so that she wouldn’t have to see all the nasty message and hate mail. But, he would constantly lie to her about little things and his contradictory statements were becoming more and more frequent, to the point where I was yelling at the MC to run for the hills.  But due to the restrictive gameplay there wasn’t much that I could do, besides sit there and watch as Toma’s actions became less kind and more restrictive and controlling. He caught her out of the house alone on several occasions, and each time he would drag her back to his house and forbid her from wandering off again. But, because she needed to gather information in order to regain her memories, she would ignore him and sneak out anyway. That is until he brought out the cage.

IMG_1430
Homey isn’t it!

 

First let me say that I was highly suspicious of Toma preparing all of the MC’s food from the start…so when she started passing for hours at a time, I was almost positive that he was drugging her food…So when I finally saw the cage in all of it’s glory, I laughed to keep from crying at how utterly ridiculous the whole situation was. The cage, which was made to contain a large dog, he assured her was for her protection and not meant as a punishment. He even promised to let her out for potty breaks and showers, because he’s not a complete jerk! She was his princess after all…and he…well even he admitted that he was like a demon king keeping her held captive…At least he’s self aware…And as if to make the situation better Toma would bring her toys so she wouldn’t be bored during her time in the cage. IMG_1495.PNGHe gave her a fricken jigsaw puzzle to play with…and then he would constantly complain to the MC about the messes he had to clean up back at her house! Then to add insult to injury, Orion, her only companion in this hell hole blamed her for being in the cage!  It was about this time that I almost rage quit the game…But, no I must be a glutton for punishment because I went and played through all of his endings. Each and every one! Toma belongs in a loony bin, he brings new meaning to the line “People do crazy things when they’re in love.” His love for the MC is so great that the thought of anyone else stealing her away causes him to develop Jekyll/Hyde syndrome. After having spent his whole life pretending to be a big brother to the MC, he was afraid that his love for her would only scare her away. So he squashed his feelings down, locking them deep within his heart and contented himself with simply watching her from afar. But, when time came to act, Toma couldn’t do it, he just couldn’t let his cute little sister get snatched away by someone else. Deep down Toma just wants the object of his obsession affection to love him and to never ever run away from him…which I guess is sweet…but when he decided to put her in the cage…that’s when everything got out of hand!

IMG_1477.PNG

 


 Do I Recommend This Route?

Sometimes in life there is just no one way to react to something, this is one of those moments…The first gif, featuring Dean Winchester from Supernatural, is how I felt during the initial playthrough. It encompasses my reactions to some of the choices I had to make and the actions of the characters involved in this route. Now the second gif, featuring Emerson Cod from Pushing Daisies (an awesome and very underrated show), is the actual response/recommendation gif.

Now I know why Toma is barely in any of the other routes other than Shin’s and his own…there is no way in hell any of the other routes would be possible with him around…

So the endings…The only redeeming ending in this route is the Normal ending. In that ending Shin bursts in like a Captain-Save-A-Hoe, punches Toma before he can rape the MC and drags her out of his apartment to safety. Toma disappears, never to be heard from again and Ikki and Shin take care of the fangirls. Life goes on for the MC, but she can’t help but pray that Toma is happy where ever he is! I sincerely hope that where ever he is he’s getting the help that he needs! In the Good Ending, the MC is about to get molested by an out of control Toma, at first it seems like she’s just going to lay there and take it. But then she does the unthinkable…she opens her mouth and speaks, in an act of desperation the MC calls out to the Big Brother inside of Toma to come and help her, just like he would do when they were children. Toma snaps out of it just and time, and backs away from her directly into his book shelf. The MC’s bag falls from the shelf, and out pops her diary (which until this point was forgotten by everyone). Toma reads it and learns that the MC has been in love with him her entire life…they confess their love for one another, put the fangirls in their place and live happily ever after…I shit you not! I almost threw up when I read this! He kept her in a fricken cage for Christ’s sake, you don’t start dating him after all of that…No, you run like hell in the opposite direction!

I actually got the Ukyo Bad Ending just to end it all! In it, after the MC escapes the cage, she runs into Ukyo. Instead of running away from the only person creepier that Toma, she decides to trust him and is rewarded by him pushing her down a well. In the other Bad Ending, the MC runs into Toma, who in his fury, locks the MC back in the cage turning her into a living doll…at least it came with a CG…

There is nothing more that I can say about Toma that hasn’t already been said…so my recommendation, if you haven’t already guessed it… I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS ROUTE…I found myself treating this route as a joke just so I could get through the whole thing!

Do you have any suggestions for posts? Any burning questions? Want me to review a specific game or character? Feel free to Comment on this post or Ask Me on my tumblr! As always Thank You for reading!

20 thoughts on “My Childhood Friend is Kinda Crazy: Amnesia: Memories-Toma Review

  1. Lol you took the bullet. I agree-I’m very mixed on childhood friend routes. But Toma just takes it to a whole other level:( I haven’t played his route yet but I’ve already spoiled it so I enjoyed reading your review.
    So glad to see you dislike him lol I just can’t understand why some like him….

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, even Toma questioned her taste in men! The guy who put her in an effing cage questioned her taste in men! I almost broke my iPad while playing this route! There were so many red flags and I could do nothing but watch it all happen *shaking my head*

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Those gifs made me lol, heck your whole review made me laugh. You really hit everything I felt about this route, but I still say Toma is a step above Ikki~ Probably because Ikki could’ve prepared the whole shit from starting in the first place, while Toma…you can’t fight your nature 😛
    /is totally biased Toma got two cute shota CG
    I also agree if Toma hadn’t brought out the cage he’d have been right next to Kent as my favourite route, sadly the cage and the stuffed toys + drugs really wrecked it all up. At least half of his route was sweet, unlike Ikki’s that only got a few sweet moments and didn’t redeem him at all~
    /thumbs up
    (☆^O^☆)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so glad I read this! I’ve been thinking of playing this game but now I know for sure to avoid this route! I seriously think I would have lit it on fire if I tried to play through this one!! Thanks for taking one for the team 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My pleasure! Lol Toma was one of those characters you know about going into the game…but yet he still manages to surprise you in the worst way…unfortunately if you want to play Ukyo’s route you have to get all of the good endings for shin, Ikki, Kent, and Toma…

      Like

Leave a Reply

