Last Week Today: Week End Recap- Feb. 14th to Feb. 20th

Here we are once again at the end of another week…I always plan on writing these posts in advanced, but life has a funny way of stopping that from happening. So here I am, again, at the last possible minute scrambling to get this weekly recap finished…

So, we’ve finally graduated from the data analysis portion of my final research assignment.

praise hand

Now, we’ve moved on to the writing portion of the project. Sounds easy enough in theory, but unfortunately that is not so much the case. We used a well known dataset to run our analysis, so that means there are hundreds of papers that have already been written using said dataset. So, my task is to cover the same information about the dataset as the other papers have, without accidentally plagiarizing any of it! There are only so many was to say “X sampling method was used in Y country” or “a nationally representative sample of X was selected from Y, using Z…”


Weekly Recap: Feb. 14th-Feb. 20th

  1. PokeNews: A New Legendary Pokemon?!So while browsing the internet I discovered that GameFreak managed to sneeze out another new legendary Pokemon! To be honest I think we have enough legendary Pokemon, perhaps that energy would have been better used to create a new Pokemon game…or maybe come up with a better post-game for as of yet unannounced X and Y companion game. *side note: Do ya’ll like the banner image for the PokeNews posts?*
  2. The Guy I Kinda Like is a Mobster: Kissed by the Baddest Bidder- Soryu Oh Review– February 17th marked the birthday of KBTBB’s hunky mobster, Soryu Oh, so in honor of the day I wrote a game review! Soryu is one of my favorite Voltage characters and I highly recommend his route, especially for those people who still have reservations about KBTBB as a whole. *side note: This was my 50th post on WordPress!!!*
  3. Mini Review: Remembering A Knight’s Devotion– This was my first otome game, ever, and I just wanted to take some time to remember just how much I still love this game. It is such a shame that it never got a proper ending in the US version, maybe if we bug Voltage enough they’ll revive it!
  4. First Thoughts: After School Affairs– So this week saw the release of Voltage Inc.’s newest game After School Affair! I usually don’t play new games right away, but I decided to take a chance and play the game immediately after it’s release. So far I like the game well enough, but I have to wait until they release Shinichi before I write a full review. But I have heard good things about Rikiya’s route!

Housekeeping

So this week was a pretty good week for blogging, two of the above posts were planned and two were not. Can you guess which ones? I experimented with posting a review for a new game immediately after its release, and to be honest it’s way too much work for me. I much prefer to take my time and enjoy a game, so I probably won’t do that again (at least not anytime soon).

I made some changes to the top menu this week; I removed the Boys Love section, instead opting to create BL sub headings for the existing sections. From now on all BL/Yaoi content will be under their respective menu headings, with “BL” added to the end to differentiate them from other posts in the section (ie. Ramblings BL)…Sorry for any confusion this may have caused…

I also added Fangirl Moments to the main menu at the top of the Home page. This section will house all posts fandom posts not related to gaming; including, but not limited to: anime, manga, webcomics, movies, and books. Technically this is a gaming blog, so a majority of posts will be about games, but I don’t want to limit myself (I have lots of interests outside of games), so Fangirl Moments will be the primary way that I communicate my other interests on this blog. Ramblings also serve the same purpose, but will be less regular and more random than Fangirl Moments posts.

Finally, this week I started branching out using my other social media accounts (mostly Tumblr). I would love to connect with otome/otoge fans within WordPress and outside of WordPress, and to spread the reach of my blog to more people! So here’s where you can find me: Tumblr and Twitter (this is my personal account, so don’t let the name confuse you lol). I am trying to be more active online, but Twitter always manages to get the short end of the stick… I also received a request from tumblr for a review, which I will be posting some time in March! This week I will be posting some otoge Kickstarters and demos, Otome Fans UNITE!


Here we are at the end of the post, where I highlight interesting posts from other bloggers that showed up on my Reader this week!

Recent Playthrough: Neko Atsume & Notice Me Senpai!– Have you found yourself avoiding mobile games because they are just too time consuming? Well look no further Neko Atsume and Notice Me Senpai have got you covered. Both games have a similar premise, decorate an area with items and wait for cats/bishies to show up! The art is cute and the at your leisure aspect of both games is perfect for those in between moments throughout the day. This post is a short and sweet intro to both games and a must read!

Baccano! Review– Baccano was created by  Ryohgo Narita, the creator of Durarara, and it is my absolute favorite anime! Originally a light novel series, Baccano was released in 2007 and is a 16 episode series. At first glance this anime is confusing. Characters are introduced left and right and the plot jumps around a lot. But, once you get used to it the intricacies of the story start to pull together to form a rather interesting narrative. Immortals, the Mafia, Prohibition, and train ride from hell, all come together to make an insanely fun and interesting show!

A Valentine’s Post: To All Singles and My Beloved Readers– Last Sunday was Valentine’s Day, or Singles Awareness Day, a day when all the couples of the world celebrate love! I love this post, because the author is very frank about the “holiday” and what it means for single people. She breaks down the types of single people, and offers encouragement and solutions for dealing with being by yourself on V-Day, and that it’s okay to be alone too! She also includes a Shout-out to all the bloggers on WordPress that have touched her life in some way! I am so honored to be named as one of those people! Thank you so much, Shiroyuni!

Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth– I recently came upon this blogger, and I absolutely love their game reviews! They are frank assessments of games without all the fluff that bogs down some of the other reviews that I’ve read. This post is a continuation of the Ace Attorney series of posts, and while they didn’t like the game that much, this is a very well written and thought out review! I especially love that the author is quick to respond to all comments and that they are very knowledgeable about the games’ production as well.

Do you have any suggestions for posts? Any burning questions? Want me to review a specific game or character? See something in your Reader this week that you wanna share? Feel free to Comment on this post or Ask Me on my tumblr!  As always Thank You for reading!

28 thoughts on “Last Week Today: Week End Recap- Feb. 14th to Feb. 20th

  1. Ahh, I’m so flattered you like my reviews! ;v; I always feel they’re so short compared to everyone else >_<

    (I used to try to do proper/long/reviewing everything but it was exhaustive and not fun for me ORZ)

    Thank you so much for featuring me and I love your weekly recaps, they're such a nice way to bring attention to missed content ( ´ ▽ ` )ノ

    Liked by 1 person

      1. (☆^O^☆)

        Haha, I’m jealous of long reviews, I consider mine more of an opinion/thought piece about the things I enjoy than proper reviews per se heh

        Your reviews are very informational and pretty, so it’s good ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. (I’ll tell you the secret:
        Write it on a tablet!
        There you’re set xDD )

        My pleasure ^-^

        It does have its bad points too xDD Because of my short reviews I’m going through what I gamed pretty quickly and am running out of things I’d like to blog while I play Starry Sky in Spring heh.

        I do have things I’m thinking of writing, I just need to plop down and write them out. I’m trying to focus more on things I loved than things I didn’t like (once in a while I’ll slip in a really bad game if I think people should be warned off, really).

        ~(^з^)-♡

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I would blog from my Ipad, but it changes the dimensions on my pics…which is a pain to fix…

        I finished Yoh’s route and I have been playing Kanata’s off and on for the past couple of months…

        Maybe you could do a let’s play series, or blog as you play!

        Yeah I know what you mean about the occasional bad review…I hate wasting my money on a bad game, but it does happen…might as well write a review and get some thing out of it…

        Like

      4. Maybe just write on there and then add pictures from a PC? I can’t, so I make do xDD;;

        Oh, you’re playing too? There’s a game/otoge group I started with two other girls to play games together (like we have dates to start and end, give our expectations and then afterwards our opinion on it) and we’re playing together. If you ever want, you could join us :3 (SSS is to be finished to 1 of April and I haven’t played much at all because I’m trying to finish the N4 course on Memrise haha)

        A LP ಠ_ಠ that’s so scary xDD I’m not even a native of English, I speak with an accent heh (I learnt it by myself by playing games and TV/movies really). Blogging as I play…I do that on Twitter because I don’t have solid thoughts until I finish something (and I tend to complain when dudes do dumb shit/gripe and I don’t want to make whiny posts xD )

        Bad reviews are definitely not something I want to be prominent on the blog. I prefer spreading positivity if I can (-^〇^-) (unless they’re uber turds like Again and My Japanese Coach which are both waste of space/existence ಠ_ಠ )

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I’m HijackedCat on Twitter, I think I’m following you (I’m pretty sure I did xD) I just have send a tweet to the other 2 girls and you’re set! 😀

        Aww, thank you! I feel really good about my English but I definitely have days my mind slips xD;

        Liked by 1 person

      6. (◎_◎;) really? I’m hoping I do/finish till N1 on memrise and then I keep it by being immersed.
        That sounds so scary, I’m sure you’ll catch up in no time, it’s just like riding a bike ^w^

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I just love reading your weekly posts! Actually I love them all, but I really like how you go through and talk about your posts and those you’ve read over the week. It’s a great idea and really opens up the community for those who still are looking for other blogs to follow.

    Hmmm, well you’re already pretty busy, but I’d love to hear your thoughts on Samurai Warriors Empires 4 that comes out this March 15 on PSN for Vita and PS4 (if you have the systems). It’s a hack and slash game set during the warring feudal Japan era and covers the history. You create your own character (with TONS of options like voice, body, face, etc) and you can even get married. To literally anyone in this game lol. So it’s like an otome with events and stuff but not haha. I already started the 3rd and its’ super addicting!!!!!!!

    Of course, if you can’t play it, then I’d love to see you cover free doujin otome games like A Troll’s Fairytale (which I adored 🙂 ). I’d also love to see posts on jdramas and live action movies (like Rurouni Kenshin and Toshokan Sensou). From anyone really-these things are hardly covered by anyone in the community and there really are some amazing shows out there that so many people are missing out on. If more people blogged about them, we could all branch out. Sure, otoges and anime are FANTASTIC don’t get me wrong, but I really think we should all stretch out to see what else Japan has to offer in terms of entertainment.

    Anyways, so sorry for this super long reply lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for always, always reading! As for Samurai Warriors Empire…I have a PS vita so we’ll see if I can fit it in somewhere, since my research project is slowing down a bit…

      I actually have some reviews in the works for some doujin otoge, but they kinda get pushed back for some of the shinier new games that come out (gives Voltage the side eye)…

      I love k drama and j dramas, but I have not had time to watch any shows lately…I just finished watching season 2 of Mushishi…which took me way longer than I thought…i can maybe squeeze some reviews abot dramas i’ve already watched though… I absolutely agree Japan has a lot more to offer outside of gaming! Also don’t worry about the long comment! i love when people take the time to respond to my posts!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It was my pleasure to feature your blog and post!

      I Baccano is one of my all time favorites and your review was a joy to read! I could really tell how much you loved this anime! I definitely enjoy reading your reviews and I look forward to reading many more in the future! I can’t wait until you reach your 1000 review goal!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I actually love your blog, since it’s one of the active otome blogs out there. It reminds me fondly of when I was watching otome anime, and I actually miss them now.
        BTW, have you seen Togainu no Chi and what do you think of it?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you so much! You don’t know how happy that makes me 😀

        I have not seen it yet, but the game is in my backlog! I’ve heard about it though and it looks like typical nitro+ stuff. I’m playing DMMD which is fun and traumatic at the same time lol

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Frogive me, my otome knowledge only goes as far as anime adaptations. Conicidentally, I have Dramatical Murder in my list of shows to watch this month, lol.
        And yeah, Togainu no Chi is like hardcore BL. XD

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Oh no you are absolutely fine! I saw the hakuoki and hiiro no kakera anime before I knew what otome were…and then when I found out what they were i started looking up games and stuff. Lol I saw one episode of the Dramatical Murder anime, and from what I saw it looked okay. What other shows have you watched?

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I know DramaticalMurder anime will hurt, but I honstly can’t wait to see it. XD
        I’ve seen tons. Um..Amnesia, UtaPri, Starry Sky, Kami no Asobi, La Corda D Oro, Hiiro no Kakera, BroCon, and Diabolik Lovers to name few.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

